We’ve all been there. Sweat beads drip down your forehead as you send a risky message, knowing you won’t be able to take it back. Or maybe you sent a message in the group chat to realise that you clicked the wrong group! The stress.
Well, now, Facebook is finally introducing an option to permanently delete messages you send.
At the moment, when you hit ‘delete’ on a message you’ve sent, Messenger actually only deletes it from your side of the conversation; the message you sent is still very much on display for others in the conversation to see.
The move to introduce the function was pushed after it was discovered Facebook executives have actually already been able to do this!
According to The Guardian:
“Facebook has been using a secret tool to delete messages sent by its executives from the inboxes of their recipients, without disclosing the deletions to the recipients or even recording there was ever a message in the first place.
“Effectively, this means if you send Mark Zuckerberg a Facebook message, he has a copy for ever. But if he sends you one, he can reach into your inbox and pluck it out of existence."
Facebook has since apologised for the exclusive function in an email and has promised to stop using it until it is available to the public.
“We will now be making a broader delete message feature available.
“This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives' messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not."
Have you been wishing for a delete message feature? What do you think of the function existing for Facebook executives only, up until now? Let us know in our Facebook comments!
An Ex Producer of The Bachelor Revealed ALL To Fifi, Fev & Byron Part 1