Independent Dr Joe re-elected in Wagga

First four-year term

25 March 2019

Article heading image for Independent Dr Joe re-elected in Wagga

Dr Joe McGirr MP, Facebook

Wagga remains an Independent seat, with Dr. Joe McGirr re-elected for what will be his first full term as the local State MP.

Following his by-election victory last September, local voters one again put faith in Dr. McGirr.

With 78.2% of the vote counted, he's leading the count with 65.5%, The Nationals’ Mackenna Powell second on 34.5%.

The result represents a swing to Dr McGirr of around 28 percent.

He says representing Wagga is a privilege, and it's time to get to work, not only holding the government to their election promises, but having some of the issues raised by local residents addressed.

Listen Live!