Queensland Maroons Team For Origin Opener Announced

Just in

Article heading image for Queensland Maroons Team For Origin Opener Announced

File Image

Kevin Walters has named the Queensland Maroons side to take on NSW in Game 1 of the State of Origin series.

The squad features three debutants - Moses MbyeJoe OfahengaueDavid Fifita.

While there's also a starting debut for superstar Kalyn Ponga

Despite being out injured for the past month, Daly Cherry-Evans is expected to captain the side following the retirement of Greg Inglis.

Queensland Maroons Squad - Game 1: Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights) Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos) Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm) Michael Morgan (NQ Cowboys) Dane Gagai (South Sydney Rabbitohs) Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm) Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles) Jai Arrow (Gold Coast Titans) Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos) Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders) Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm) Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)  Josh McGuire (NQ Cowboys) Dylan Napa (Canterbury Bulldogs) David Fifita (Brisbane Broncos) Joe Ofahengaue (Brisbane Broncos) Moses Mbye (Wests Tigers)

Catch up on today's headlines and download the Hit app here: iOS | Android


26 May 2019

Listen Live!

Up Next