Eaglehawk wins 2018 BFL Premiership!

Defeats Strathfieldsaye by 49 points

Article heading image for Eaglehawk wins 2018 BFL Premiership!

Eaglehawk's celebrating after making amends for last year's grand final fadeout by winning the 2018 Bendigo Football League premiership.

They kicked 11 goals in the second half to run out 19.8.122 to 11.7.73 winners over Strathfieldsaye at Queen Elizabeth Oval on Saturday - winning the club's 27th flag and first since 2008.

Sean Williams kicked 5 for the Borough while teammates Jonty Neaves and Brodie Collins won the Nalder medal and AFLCV medal respectively.

Collins admitting after the game the 2017 grand final result spurred the team on to the flag this season.

"It was a pretty tough loss last year, we thought we were the better side and I thought Strath would probably admit that too," Collins says.

"We lost one quarter, and it cost us and this year we weren't going to let it slip and we showed that in the second half on Saturday."

Other results on Saturday saw Gisborne take out the Under 18's after staving off a 5 goals to 1 last quarter from Sandhurst to win 87-84.

While the Dragons defeated reigning premiers Strathfieldsaye 77-45 to take home the reserves flag for the 4th time in 7 years.

24 September 2018

Listen Live!
Up Next