How To UN-Send That Email You Sent To The WRONG Person

LIFE SAVER!

How To UN-Send That Email You Sent To The WRONG Person

Image Credit: Warner Bros. Television. 

We all know the sh#@ scary feeling when our stomach drops after we’ve accidentally pressed SEND on an email or text that is going to the wrong person… 

Post

It ain’t fun. 

While we might not be able to retrieve those mis-sent texts, there is a way to retrieve those emails you sent without meaning to!

First thing’s first, this trick is only going to work if you’ve got a Gmail account. 

Considering SO many of us do, you should be in the safe area (if not, sorry…). 

Last year, Gmail unveiled an ‘undo send’ option, but there were a few tricks to getting it right. 

The option is ONLY available when using your inbox via a BROWSER, not the app version. 

Also, once the email is sent, you only have a window of 30 seconds to recall the message. 

So if you realise you sent it to the wrong person hours later… there’s nothing you can do. 

If you want to enable the option, here’s what you can do!

  1. Log into Gmail and click on the cog icon that sits in the top right corner. 
  2. Select ‘settings’.
  3. Go to the General Tab and you’ll see an ‘undo send’ option. Tick this box!
  4. Then, click on the dropdown box under the option, select ‘send cancellation period’ to either 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds. 
  5. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and click ‘Save changes’!

After selecting these options, every time you send an email a small box should appear that reads, “Your message has been sent. Undo View message,” which gives you the option to recall the message within 5-30 seconds. 

At least there’s this to save us from sending our rant emails about our boss... to our boss… 

Post
;