Warning: Do NOT Click On This Email From 'Netflix'

Netflix and fake bill

Warning: Do NOT Click On This Email From 'Netflix'

Queensland Police have taken to Facebook to warn the public of the latest scam email targeting Netflix subscribers.

The scam email informs the recipients their billing information needs to be updated and they must 'restart membership'.  The hoax email includes a link to a fake, but very real looking Netflix website which asks users to log in and enter various types of personal information including a credit card number.

Police advise the following...

  • Do NOT click on any links or open attachments from emails claiming to be from a trusted organisation, asking you to update or verify your details – just hit DELETE
  • If you are suspicious or concerned, do an internet search using the names or exact wording of the email or message to check for any references to a scam – many scams can be identified this way. 
  • Before you click on a link, hover over the link to see the actual web address you will be taken to. If you do not recognise or trust the address, try searching for relevant key terms in a web browser.

See the full post here:

Post
;