If you're about to switch browsers to search some X-rated content, you'd better read this first.
One of Google's staffers has issued an important reminder about the nature of Incognito Mode on Chrome.
Darin Fisher, one of the creators of Chrome, said even naming the browser as 'incognito' instead of 'private' was a deliberate choice.
“When you launch the incognito tab there’s this disclaimer there where we really try to help make it really clear to people that your activity is certainly still visible to the websites you visit and could be visible to your employer, to your school, and to your [internet service provider] of course," Mr Fisher told online magazine Thrillist.
The fact that the browser pauses its recording of your history does not mean that you are surfing the web without leaving a trace.
While this may come as a surprise, it's again a case of reading the fine print, as the disclaimer on the opening webpage of an Incognito browser states the following.
You've gone incognito. Now you can browse privately, and other people who use this device won't see your activity. However, downloads and bookmarks will be saved. Chrome won't save the following information: your browsing history, cookies and site data, information entered in forms. Your activity might still be visible to: websites you visit, your employer or school, your internet service provider.