Here's The Designs For Melbourne's New Train Stations

They look so fancy!

Here's The Designs For Melbourne's New Train Stations Supplied

Final designs for Melbourne's five new underground train stations have been revealed as part of the Metro Tunnel project.

The rail project is set to be completed in 2025, with the new North Melbourne, Parkville, State Library, Town Hall and Anzac stations to take three busy train lines out of the congested City Loop.

"There's a special and unique opportunity to create new landmarks with these five new underground stations," Public Transport Minister Jacinta Allan told reporters on Wednesday.

"In cities around the world they are grand places, they are places where people some to catch trains, to catch up with friends."

The North Melbourne station's brick structure will reflect the area's industrial heritage, while "grand entrances" at the State Library and Town Hall will create new meeting places alongside redesigned laneways with shops and cafes, the government says.

"We need to bring extra capacity into our metropolitan train system. We need to be able to run more trains in and out of the city from the suburbs and the regions," Ms Allan said.

The designs are a collaboration between architects Hassell, Weston Williamson and Rogers Stirk Harbour and Partners.

The Town Hall station Federation Square entrance.

Inside New North Melbourne Station

The Laurens St entrance to the new North Melbourne station.

The new North Melbourne station concourse.

The Anzac station concourse.

State Library station Swanston Street entrance.