PSA: There's A Massive Rail And Road Construction Blitz Starting Tomorrow

Rail and roads will be hellish

PSA: There's A Massive Rail And Road Construction Blitz Starting Tomorrow File

Hey Melbourne, if you’re trying to get anywhere on time over the next six weeks – leave early.

A major construction blitz starts this Friday – lasting until Sunday 29 April.

While it will deliver major road and rail upgrades to the area – it’s likely there’ll be some pretty serious interruptions.

Here’s the major changes and how they will affect the following lines and routes:


Cranbourne and Pakenham lines
Buses replace trains between Dandenong and Cranbourne stations from 8pm Friday 23 March to last service Sunday 25 March.

Buses replace trains between Oakleigh and Dandenong stations from first service Friday 30 March to last service Monday 2 April.

Buses replace trains between Caulfield and Westall stations from first service Tuesday 3 April to last service Sunday 15 April.


Frankston and Stony Point lines
Buses replace trains between Moorabbin and Stony Point stations from Friday 6 April to last service Sunday 8 April.


Hurstbridge line
Buses replace trains between Clifton Hill and Macleod stations from 8.15pm Friday 16 March to last service Sunday 29 April.

Buses replace trains between Clifton Hill and Greensborough stations from 8.15pm Friday 16 March to 6am Saturday 17 March.

Buses replace trains between Macleod and Greensborough stations from 7.45pm Thursday 29 March to last service Monday 2 April. 

Sunbury line
Buses replace trains between Sunshine and Sunbury stations from first service Friday 30 March to last service Sunday 1 April.

Buses replace trains between Watergardens and Sunbury stations from first service to last service on Sunday 15 April.

Route 58 trams
Buses replace trams between Toorak Road West and Park Street from Sunday 1 April to last service Tuesday 17 April.


St Kilda Road trams
Buses replace trams between Commercial Road and Stop 19 - Shrine of Remembrance from Friday 6 April to last service Tuesday 17 April. 

Bairnsdale and Traralgon lines
Coaches replace trains between Southern Cross and Bairnsdale/Traralgon stations from first service Friday 30 March to last service Sunday 15 April.

Bendigo line
Coaches replace trains between Southern Cross and Bendigo stations from Friday 30 March to Sunday 1 April.

Road and lane closures
Major roads including Grattan Street, Grange Road, Hoddle Street, Lower Plenty Road and Spencer Street will be impacted by full and partial lane closures.

;