The Coast Decides

Major parties poll well.

The Coast Decides Huffington Post



The make up of the first-ever Central Coast Council been decided, with the New South Wales Electoral Commission posting final results over the weekend.


There will be six Labor councillors, five Independents and four Liberals, with former Wyong Councillor Greg Best, Independent and the Marine Discovery Centre's Jane Smith and former Gosford Mayor Chris Holstein among the names winning on preferences.


The full results for each Ward below...




SUNDAY: A mixture of new and old faces will make up the first ever elected Central Coast Council following yesterday's historic vote.


As of today, eight of the 15 councillors positions have been decided, headed by The Entrance Ward where all 3 places were locked in - former Wyong Labor councillor Lisa Matthews, Liberal newcomer Jilly Pilon (pronounced Pillen) and popular Independent Bruce MacLachlan - brother of actor Craig MacLachlan.


Elsewhere, the ALP has also claimed spots in Budgewoi with Doug Vincent, Kyle MacGregor in Wyong and in Gosford West, through Richard Mehrtens.


The Liberal party will have a Gosford East councillor in Rebecca Gale Collins, meantime Independent Louise Greenaway won a place in Wyong.


Some the better known candidates including Greg Best, Chris Holstein and Doug Eaton will need to rely on preferences.


Save Tuggerah Laakes Party’s unlikely to receive any seats, averaging about 5% of the formal votes across the five wards, nor are the Greens who are averaging 10%.






FRIDAY: Thousands of Coasties will join close the 3 million people voting across NSW tomorrow (Saturday September 9) in council elections.


The Central Coast is one of 46 areas going to the polls, to decide who'll represent us for the next three years.


In 2012, the former Wyong Council elected 3 Labor, 2 Liberal, 3 Independent and 2 Save Tuggerah Lakes councillors.


Meantime, Gosford elected 4 Liberal, 2 Labor, 1 Green and 3 Independents.


The new council will have 5 less councillors at 15...3 for each of the 5 wards....Budgewoi, Wyong, The Entrance, Gosford West and Gosford East.


Almost 100 polling booths will be open across the region from 8am til 6pm.


Pre-polling is still available today (Friday September 8) if you can't vote tomorrow.


For more information click here