Maroons Name Their Side For Game One

Just in:

Maroons Name Their Side For Game One Image: QLD RL

Kevin Walters has named the 17-man Queensland squad to play NSW in Origin 1. 

There was no room for 28-game Origin player Darius Boyd, with Walters favouring Valentine Holmes all but ending Boyd's Origin career. 

Despite already facing an uphill battle to play in Origin 1 with suspension looming, Matt Scott has also been left out of the squad. 

Walters, will hand Origin debuts to Andrew McCullough, Felise Kaufusi and Jai Arrow who have all been selected off the back of strong showings in the NRL. 

QLD Origin Team For Game 1:  

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2. Valentine Holmes (Cronulla Sharks)

3. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

4. Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)

5. Dane Gagai (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

6. Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

7. Ben Hunt (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

8. Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)

9. Andrew McCullough (Brisbane Broncos)

10. Jarrod Wallace (Gold Coast Titans) 

11. Gavin Cooper (NQ Cowboys)

12. Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)

13. Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)


14. Michael Morgan (NQ Cowboys)

15. Coen Hess (NQ Cowboys)

16. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

17. Jai Arrow (Gold Coast Titans)