Race Routes Announced For Tour Down Under 2019

First-time finish for the event

Race Routes Announced For Tour Down Under 2019

For the first time in the Tour Down Under's 20 year history, the final stage - the Be Safe Be Seen MAC Stage 6 - will finish on the infamous hill top climb of Willunga Hill.

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment David Ridgway has confirmed that McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill will see out next year's event, not the usual City loop.

"Race routes are expected to challenge the world’s best cycling teams and riders whilst adding more elements of interest and entertainment for the fans", he said.

Other features of the week include a return to Angaston in the Barossa for the first time since 2014, the Corkscrew Road climb for Stage 4 and for the first time Glenelg to Strathalbyn for Stage 5.

Race Director Mike Turtur who designs the course with his team each year said "we knew we had to create something special for the 2019 event and deliver something a little different in terms of the race routes after the amazing race we had this year".

"It is important as a race that we keep everyone guessing and the riders challenged. We can't be complacent" he said.

Stage 1 will see a first-time finish in Port Adelaide while riders will pass through Uraidla seven times for Stage 3.

A record 46,000 visitors from interstate and overseas attended the 2018 event, generating $63.7 million, the equivalent of 774 full time jobs.

“We expect even more fans to line the road throughout the regions to cheer on their cycling heroes or simply enjoy a day out in South Australia with towns and regions showcasing our best food, wine and destination experiences as the race travels through” Minister Ridgway said.

The Santos Tour Down Under will run from January 10-20, 2019 and the Santos Women's Tour Down Under January 10.

The race routes for the women’s race, will be announced in late September.

Men's race routes -

Sunday 13 January: People’s Choice Classic: East End Circuit (51 km)

Tuesday 15 January: Stage 1: North Adelaide to Port Adelaide (132.4 km)
Wednesday 16 January: Stage 2: Norwood to Angaston (149 km)
Thursday 17 January: Stage 3: Lobethal to Uraidla (146.2 km)
Friday 18 January: Stage 4: Unley to Campbelltown (129.2 km)
Saturday 19 January: Stage 5: Glenelg to Strathalbyn (149.5 km)
Sunday 20 January: Be Safe Be Seen MAC Stage 6: McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill (151.5 km)